Out Now! "Snapshots. Stories about Heimat" is published!


Home is where your heart is. This is what people say, who live in the same place for generations, but also these people who were led to a new place by coincidence, by jobs or by love. People tell various stories about home, "Heimat". Some stories are characterized by wanderlust, family bonds, the love for nature, some are marked by loss or illness.


We traveled across North America by bicycle for seven months: 8.500 kilometers from Halifax on the Canadian East Coast to San Francisco on the west coast of the USA. Many times we've been engaged in small talks in front of supermarkets, in discussions on the roadside, in long talks about everything under the sun. Followed by invitations to homes and stories about life.


Like the story of a man who moved to the desert just to start building boats or the story of a homeless gold panner who lost everything exept his mobile home and his two dogs. Stories about wild fires, about living in the bubble of an ideal world, about a cuckoo clock and about children who are fed up with country life.


From these short encounters on the roadside we developed a portrait album of people from North America. 30 texts and photos tell about why people are connected to a certain place and why they call that place home.


More infos about the book project are here. You can order the book (only in german so far ...) in our online shop here.

"SNAPSHOTS. STORIES ABOUT HEIMAT" IST VERÖFFENTLICHT!  DAS BUCH IST DA! 


Home is where your Heart is. Das sagen die Menschen, die seit Generationen an einem Ort leben, aber auch diejenigen, die durch Zufälle, Arbeitsstellen oder die Liebe an einen neuen Ort verschlagen werden. So unterschiedlich wie die Menschen, sind ihre Geschichten von der Heimat. Einige sind geprägt von Fernweh, Familienbeziehungen und der Verbundenheit mit der Natur, andere von Krankheit und Verlust. 


In sieben Monaten sind wir mit dem Fahrrad einmal quer durch Nordamerika gereist: 8.500 Kilometer von Halifax an der kanadischen Ostküste nach San Francisco an der Westküste der USA. Wir wurden immer wieder in Smalltalks vor dem Supermarkt, Diskussionen am Strassenrand und in Gespräche über Gott und die Welt verwickelt, es folgten Einladungen nach Hause und Geschichten über das Leben. 


Geschichten wie die von einem Mann, der in die Wüste zog und anfing Boote zu bauen oder einem heimatlosen Goldschürfer, der alles verlor bis auf sein Wohnmobil und seine zwei Hunde. Geschichten über Buschfeuer, Heile-Welt-Blasen, Kuckucksuhren und Kinder, die das Landleben satt haben.


Aus diesen kurzen Begegnungen am Wegesrand ist eine Porträtsammlung von Menschen aus Nordamerika enstanden. 30 Texte und Porträts erzählen, was die Menschen mit einem bestimmten Ort verbindet und warum sie ihn Heimat nennen.


Mehr Informationen zum Buch gibt es hier und im Shop kann das Buch direkt bestellt werden.